hpac-lab-page-banner.jpg

开放式高性能分析和计算 (HPAC) 实验室是业内首家让部署 IDT RapidIO 互连技术的不同计算产品厂商实现交互式合作的实验室。 这个实验室通过低延迟互连支持异构计算,实现大量非结构化数据的快速移动和管理。

此实验室围绕互连、计时、存储器接口产品和关键合作者的计算技术的异构计算,创造了一个建构最终应用的合作中心。 成立这个实验室是为了让最终用户能够使用实验室平台来创建以异构计算元件为中心的原型解决方案,这些原型解决方案包括但不限于 CPU、GPU、FPGA 和 DSP 技术。

实验室设在 IDT 位于加拿大渥太华的设施内,并且计划扩展到 IDT 在圣何塞的基地,还可能在合适的地方设立下属计算集群。

 

应用

开放式 HPAC 实验室专注于 IDT 和开放式 HPAC 实验室合作者的现有和新兴硅技术战略市场:

  • 基于超大规模云计算数据中心的分析
  • 高性能计算
  • 无线 4G 升级版、5G 和移动边缘计算
  • 视频分析
  • 自主车

所有这些市场都需要多种处理元件来解决应用问题,这些问题往往需要动用通过低延迟互连连接起来的所有不同类型的元件的处理能力。

开放式 HPAC 实验室内的 RapidIO 互连

随着摩尔定律减速,单芯片加工技术集成变得越发困难。 应用需要低延迟启用多类型的处理元件,而低延迟就必须有适当的互连作为支撑。 IDT 的 RapidIO 互连解决了这个困扰无线和嵌入式系统十多年的问题。 对于应用工作负载须实时分摊到多种类别的计算半导体上的新兴市场来说,IDT RapidIO 互联的很多属性已经成为硬性要求。 RapidIO 的 100ns 低延迟互连是促成这一点的关键。

与开放计算项目和 RapidIO.org 的关系

IDT 是开放计算项目 HPC 组织的联合主席。 开放式 HPAC 实验室意在尽可能地利用工业标准的 OCP 平台,其原因有许多。

  • 首先是要加快 OCP 解决方案的启用。 第二是希望在 OCP 硬件通过正式认证流程之前,在其开发阶段找到一个为其开发最终软件应用的地方。
  • 适时将软件社区的反馈提供给 OCP 团队。 实验室中使用的硬件平台不需要符合 OCP 标准,虽然能够做到这点当然最好。
  • 开放式 HPAC 实验室支持 IDT 对于 RapidIO.org 的承诺。我们是 RapidIO.org 的副主席并主持技术工作组事务。 这个实验室将充分利用 IDT 及其合作伙伴现有和未来可能推出的 RapidIO 产品,实验室将被用于开发和测试已经或即将提交给 linux.org 的、旨在实现高性能数据管理和结构管理的开放式 RapidIO 软件。

开放式 HPAC 实验室的管理结构

IDT 创建这个实验室是为了与其合作伙伴展开更广泛的业内协作。 在启动阶段,架构主管 Mohammad Akhter 代表 CTO 办事处和 IDT 互连事业部担任实验室主任。 IDT 的战略营销主管 Devashish Paul 负责合作伙伴协作和项目选择的运作,并且负责制定与确定各方的正式合作项目。 随着项目和协作单位数量的增加,实验室的管理结构也会随之扩大,计划在实验室启动 2 个季度后成立咨询委员会。


开放式 HPAC 实验室坐落在 IDT 位于渥太华的企业办事处内。

商业模式和参与

此实验室已经在私下围绕异构计算和 RapidIO 互连,进行一些关注于成功分析的项目。 之前和目前开展的活动包括:

  • 国际足联世界杯 Twitter 数据分析,
  • 移动网络“边缘”超级计算 (Supercomputing at the Edge for Mobile networks) 研究
  • 基于 RapidIO 的数据中心的分析和大型强子对撞机的目标实时数据采集

实验室通过捐赠模式获得资金。

  • 伙伴合作通过提供处理器和网络硬件平台(例如服务器、存储器以及与 IDT RapidIO 互连技术兼容的架顶式交换芯片)开展协作。
  • 最终用户通过提交项目和人员开发平台软件项目为本实验室做出贡献。
  • IDT 的工作则围绕一些服务器和网络硬件元素、应用工程资源、实验室选址,以及对成功项目相关的营销运行和实验室产生的合作伙伴关系进行管理。

实验室的模式为项目自给自足。 IDT 的目标不是通过实验室直接产生收入。 相反,IDT 允许用户使用 IDT 及其合作伙伴的技术来开发基于这些底层技术的系统级应用。

在开放式 HPAC 实验室申请新项目的方法

  • 实验室自启动开始就有项目在运作,并且将于 2015 年 10 月开始受理新的项目申请。 请联系 openhpac-lab@idt.com
  • 这是一家应用技术实验室;实验室将按照个案处理原则逐一审查项目申请,审查时参照的标准有很多,包括但不限于:
    • 项目的目标市场
    • 商品化途径。 比起“研究”(r),更侧重“开发”(D)
    • 影响 IDT 和关键合作者未来的产品开发
    • 最终用户项目提供的资源和/或资金投入

Skip to main content

Open High-Performance Analytics and Computing (HPAC) Lab

The Open High-Performance Analytics and Computing (HPAC) Lab is the industry’s first lab that enables the inter-working of diverse computing vendors deploying IDT’s RapidIO interconnect technologies. The lab support heterogeneous computing with low-latency interconnect to enable the rapid movement and management of large volumes of unstructured data.

The lab provides a central area for collaboration to build end applications with heterogeneous computing around interconnect, timing and memory interface products and key collaborator computing technologies. It is designed to enable end users to use lab platforms to create prototype solutions around heterogeneous computing elements, which can include, but are not limited to, CPU, GPU, FPGA and DSP technologies.

The lab is based in IDT’s facility in Ottawa, Canada, with plans for expansion to IDT San Jose, as well as potential satellite computing clusters at select locations.

► Download the Interconnect for Open High-Performance Computing White Paper (PDF)
Download the Supercomputing at the Mobile Edge Overview (PDF)


The Open HPAC Lab is focused on a number of strategic markets for existing and emerging silicon technologies from IDT and Open HPAC Lab collaborators:

  • Hyperscale Cloud Data Center-Based Analytics
  • High-Performance Computing
  • Wireless 4G advanced, 5G and Mobile Edge Computing
  • Video Analytics
  • Autonomous vehicles

All of these markets need multiple processing elements to solve the application problem, often with processing of different types all connected with a low-latency Interconnect.

RapidIO Interconnect at the OpenHPAC Lab

As Moore’s Law slows down, integration of processing technologies in a single monolithic die becomes more difficult. Applications need to span multiple types of processing elements with low latency for which a suitable interconnect is needed. IDT’s RapidIO interconnect has solved this problem for over a decade in wireless and embedded systems. Many of these attributes have become a requirement in emerging markets where the application workload spans many categories of computing semiconductors in real time. RapidIO 100ns low latency interconnect is the cornerstone to enable this.

Relationship to the Open Compute Project and to

IDT co-chairs the Open Compute Project HPC organization. In the Open HPAC Lab there is an intent to leverage industry-standard OCP platforms where possible for a number of reasons.

  • The first is to accelerate adoption of OCP solutions. The second is to have an area to develop end software applications on OCP hardware in development before it gets through the formal certification process.
  • Feedback from the software community will allow for feedback to the OCP teams where appropriate. Hardware platforms used in the lab do not need to be OCP compliant though even though there is preference.
  • The Open HPAC Lab supports IDT’s commitment of for which we serve as vice chair and also chair the Technical working group. The lab will leverage existing and future RapidIO products from IDT and its partners and will be used to develop and test open RapidIO software for high-performance data management and fabric management that has already been or will be submitted to

Management Structure of the Open HPAC Lab

IDT is opening the lab for wider industry collaboration working with its partners. At the launch phase, Mohammad Akhter, director of architecture, serves as lab director on behalf of the office of the CTO, and Interconnect Division of IDT. Devashish Paul, director of strategic marketing at IDT, runs the partner collaboration and project selection and will formulate formal engagement projects with identified parties. Management structure for the lab will grow as the number of projects and collaborators expand with an advisory board to be nominated with a target of doing so 2 quarters after lab launch.

Business Model and Participation

The lab has been working privately on some successful analytics focused projects around heterogeneous computing and RapidIO interconnect. Previous and current activities include:

  • Twitter analytics of FIFA World Cup data,
  • Supercomputing at the “Edge” for Mobile networks research
  • RapidIO-based data center analytics and Large Hadron Collider target real time data acquisition

The lab is funded through a contribution model.

  • Partners collaborate by providing processor and networking hardware platforms such as servers, storage and top of rack switches that work with IDT RapidIO interconnect technologies.
  • End users contribute by submitting projects and personnel to develop software projects on the platforms.
  • IDT’s contribution is around several server and networking hardware elements, applications engineering resource, physical lab location and management running the marketing associated with the successful projects and partnerships that emerge from the lab.

The lab’s model is for projects to be self sustaining. IDT’s goal is to not to generate revenue directly from the lab. Rather, it allows users of IDT and partner technologies to develop system-level applications based on the underlying technologies.

Applications for new projects at the Open HPAC Lab

  • Upon launch the lab is at capacity with projects already in development and will be accepting new applications starting in Oct 2015. Please contact
  • This is an applied technology lab; applications will be taken on a case-by-case basis based on a number of criteria, that include but are not limited to the following:
    • Target market for project
    • Path to commercialization. The intent is small “r” bigger “D”
    • Impact on future product development of IDT and key collaborators
    • Resource and/or monetary investment by end user project

The Open HPAC Lab is located within IDT’s corporate offices in Ottawa.