零延迟缓冲器 (ZDB)

zero-delay-buffers-category-banner.jpg

零延迟缓冲器 (ZDB) 提供了输出端输入时钟的同步拷贝(无传播延迟),并且一般情况下无需转换频率。 IDT’ 的 ZDB 均是基于 PLL 的器件,可重新生成带扇出的输入时钟信号,以驱动多个负载提供多种信号级,包括 LVPECL、LVDS、HCSL、CML、HSTL、SSTL 或 LVCMOS。 对于 FPGA、CPU、逻辑和同步存储器等需要同步时钟的应用而言,ZDB 是它们的理想选择。

大多数零延迟缓冲器的延迟可通过外部反馈路径进行调节。 这样可以实现对时钟信号到达负载所需计时的精确控制。 当全部输出(包括反馈输出)均采用简单分频器时,可进行简单的频率转换以保持时钟同步化。

提示: 如果需要不止一个唯一的输出频率(如 100MHz 和 125Mhz),可使用“输出库”参数选择器。 每个库与唯一的输出频率对应。

Download:IDT Clock Distribution Overview (PDF | English, 日本語)

业内领先的零延迟缓冲器解决方案

IDT' 的零延迟缓冲器 (ZDB) 产品系列拥有广泛的选项和功能。 LVPECL、LVDS、HCSL、CML、HSTL、SSTL 和可选输出等差分输出,都支持高达 3.2GHz 的输出频率和频率高达 350MHz 的单端 LVCMOS 输出。 此外,IDT' 的 PLL 产品组合中有一些器件支持 1.2V 至 5V 电源电压,可在商业和工业温度范围内使用。

使用 IDT PLL 产品具有多种好处。 减少电路板上石英晶体的数量,从而提高可靠性,因为晶体很容易受到冲击和振动的影响。 使用时钟信号发生器后,通过使用一个器件取代多个晶体和振荡器,还可降低消费类电子产品'的电路板成本和空间、材料单 (BOM) 和库存水平。 对于包括个人电脑、消费类电子产品或工业系统,以及高性能网络和通信系统在内的各种系统而言,它们都是理想选择。

选择零延迟缓冲器 (ZDB)

选择用于特定应用的 ZDB 时要考虑许多重要因素。 用户可以下列参数作为起始点,来缩小潜在解决方案的范围:

  • 输出数量:选择带有足够输出端的 ZDB 来简化您的时钟数。 元件数量减少可简化设计和采购流程,能够更快地投入市场营销,甚至能提高可靠性,从而增加产出。 IDT 针对高度复杂的系统提供了一些业内’集成度最高的解决方案,同时也针对介于上述两者之间的系统提供了适当的解决方案。
     
  • 输出类型:零延迟缓冲器所需输出的信号类型。 IDT 提供 LVPECL、LVDS、HCSL、CML、HSTL、SSTL 或 LVCMOS。
     
  • 输入/输出频率范围:输入和输出频率的有效范围。 IDT 提供的零延迟缓冲器可满足所有主流应用的频率需求。
     
  • 核心电压:向 ZDB 供电的电源电压。 它通常由系统中可用的电源轨决定,并往往会对输出的电压电平产生影响。 IDT’ 零延迟缓冲器的电压范围为 3.3V 到 1.5V。

Zero Delay Buffers (ZDB)

zero-delay-buffers-category-banner.jpg

Zero-delay buffers (ZDB) provide a synchronous copy (no propagation delay) of the input clock at the outputs, usually without frequency translation. IDT’s ZDBs are PLL-based devices that regenerate the input clock signal with fanout to drive multiple loads offering various signal levels, including LVPECL, LVDS, HCSL, CML, HSTL, SSTL or LVCMOS. ZDBs are ideal for applications requiring synchronized clocking for FPGAs, CPUs, logic and synchronous memory.

Most zero-delay buffers allow the delay through the device to be adjusted through an external feedback path. This allows precise control of the timing of the clock signals to the loads. Simple frequency translation is possible with a ZDB when a single divider is used for all outputs, including feedback output, to maintain clock synchronization.

Hint: If more than one unique output frequency is required (eg. 100MHz and 125Mhz), make use of the “Output Banks” parametric selector. Each bank corresponds to a unique output frequency.

Download:IDT Clock Distribution Overview (PDF | English, 日本語)

Industry-leading Zero-delay Buffer Solutions

IDT's zero-delay buffer (ZDB) IC families are available with a wide range of options and features. Differential outputs such as LVPECL, LVDS, HCSL, CML, HSTL, SSTL, as well as selectable outputs, are supported for output frequencies up to 3.2 GHz and single-ended LVCMOS outputs for frequencies up to 350 MHz. In addition, IDT's PLL portfolio has devices supporting supply voltages from 1.2 V up to 3.3 V and that are available in the commercial and industrial temperature ranges.

Using an IDT PLL product has many benefits. Reducing the number of quartz crystals on a board improves reliability because crystals are highly susceptible to shock and vibration. Using a clock signal generator also reduces a customer's board cost and space, bill of materials (BOM) and inventory levels by replacing multiple crystals and oscillators with one device. They are ideal for use in a large variety of systems, from personal computers to consumer electronics or industrial systems, as well as high-performance networking and communications systems.

Selecting a Zero-delay Buffer (ZDB)

There are many important factors when choosing a ZDB for a particular application. The following parameters will give users a basic starting point to narrow down the potential solutions:

  • # of outputs: choose a ZDB with enough outputs to simplify your clock tree. Fewer components simplifies the design and procurement process for faster time to market, and can even improve reliability for better production yields. IDT offers some of the industry’s most integrated solutions for highly-complex systems, along with right-sized solutions for those that fall in between.
     
  • output type: this is the signalling type of the output that is required of the zero-delay buffer. IDT offers LVPECL, LVDS, HCSL, CML, HSTL, SSTL or LVCMOS.
     
  • input / output frequency range: the valid range of input and output frequencies. IDT offers zero-delay buffers to address the frequency needs of all popular applications.
     
  • core voltage: the supply voltage used to power the ZDB. This is typically defined by the power rails available in the system, and often has implications on voltage levels of the output. IDT’s zero-delay buffers are offered in voltages from 3.3 V down to 1.5V.