时钟发生器、频率合成器、PLL 和差分时钟

clocks-generation-category-banner.jpg

IDT 的时钟发生器和频率合成器均是基于 PLL 时钟的产品,因此可在一个应用中生成一个或多个时钟信号。 基于 PLL 时钟的产品可从相同的输入频率产生不同的输出频率。 系统中的每一个外围设备都需要不同的工作频率。

IDT ’时钟信号发生器产生具有严格公差限制的时钟输出频率,并提供给计时应用。 在大多数情况下,它们采用简单的低成本基频模式石英晶体或单端或差分时钟作为参考频率,并从其生成低抖动输出时钟。 可提供一些频率的多份拷贝来驱动多个负载。 它们还可通过乘法或除法方式实现频率转换。 IDT 提供具有单端和差分时钟输出的时钟发生器。 此外还可提供具有外部反馈路径的器件,从而精确控制时钟的产生。

选择时钟发生器的主要注意事项
选择正确的时钟发生器或频率合成器时需考虑一些注意事项。 应将下列高层次规范考虑在内:

  • 时钟抖动: 用于测量时钟在时间域或频率域内理想信号方面的误差量的一个指标。 在大多数应用中,时钟抖动是主要标准之一,通常由处理器、FPGA 或 ASIC 的需求来定义。 此外,时钟信号质量还可能受到应用本身的影响。 例如,为了满足 10G 以太网的需求,供应商可能会提供自身对发送或接收路径的预算;或可能存在另一组需求来满足 PCIe 第 1、2、3 代标准。 IDT 可满足几任何应用的抖动需求。
  • 频率范围:对不同的时钟合成器进行优化,以满足不同的频率要求。 一些器件在广泛的频率范围内均具备良好的性能,而其他器件在专用于特定应用的窄频带范围内具有无与伦比的性能。 当确切的频率要求处于未知状态时,客户可从 IDT ’的各种可编程时钟发生器器件中受益。
  • 输入和输出信号类型: 每个时钟信号都需要一个明确定义的高/低电压和上升/下降时间。 它们被归类为符合行业标准的“信号类型”,例如 LVCMOS、LVDS、LVPECL、HCSL 等。 一些时钟发生器支持固定的信号类型,而其它时钟发生器则更加灵活,可支持多种类型。 一些类型为单端时钟,而其他类型为差分时钟;IDT 同时拥有二者。
  • 电源电压: 器件工作所需的电压。 一般情况下,时钟信号发生器’的电源电压由系统中可用的电源轨决定。 电源电压较低时通常会降低功率损耗。 IDT 持续提供创新的低电压解决方案,可在不牺牲性能的情况下节省功率。
  • 集成度: ’通常,较好的做法是选择能够满足系统要求、同时使用了最少的元件和最简单电路的时钟发生装置。 元件数量减少可简化设计和采购流程,能够更快地投入市场营销,甚至能提高可靠性,从而增加产出。 IDT 针对高度复杂的系统提供了一些业内’集成度最高的解决方案,同时也针对介于上述两者之间的系统提供了适当的解决方案。

关于时钟发生器和频率合成器(时钟合成器)
’时钟信号发生器是能够产生同步系统操作所用计时信号的电路。 最基本的时钟发生器由谐振电路和放大器组成。 所产生的计时信号(或时钟信号)涵盖范围从简单的 50% 占空比方波到更复杂的布置。 谐振电路通常是一块石英压电振荡器,但在某些情况下也可以使用更为简单的储能电路甚至 RC 电路。 由于时钟产生计时输出变得日益复杂,我们通常将这些器件称为频率合成器或时钟合成器。 频率合成器可能会通过频率倍增器、分频器和混频器的混合操作来产生所需的输出信号。 频率倍增器可产生输出信号,其输出频率是输入频率的谐波次数(倍增),而混频器则产生和频与差频。 许多时钟合成器或频率合成器被称为锁相环路时钟(PLL 时钟),其中包含用于比较输入相位并调整振荡器频率的 PLL,以保持相匹配的相位。 可编程时钟发生器允许改变倍增器或分频器中所使用的数字,因此可选择各种输出频率而无需修改硬件。

IDT’ 的时钟发生器或时钟合成器产品支持多种不同类型的差分时钟输出等级,如 LVPECL、LVDS、HCSL 等。 与这些差分时钟有关的应用说明可从数据表和本网站中获取。

Clock Generators, Frequency Synthesizers, PLL and Differential Clocks

Clock Generator, Frequency Synthesizer, PLL and Differential Clock ICs

IDT clock generators and frequency synthesizers are all PLL clock-based products that generate one or more clock signals within an application. PLL-based products can generate different output frequencies from a common input frequency. Typically in a system, each peripheral requires a different frequency to operate.

IDT’s products produce clock output frequencies within strict tolerances for the application they are clocking. In most cases they use a simple, low-cost, fundamental-mode quartz crystal as a reference, or another clock as the frequency reference, from which they generate low-jitter output clocks. Multiple copies of some frequencies may be provided to drive multiple loads. They also allow for frequency translation - either multiplication or division. IDT offers solutions for single-ended and differential clock outputs. There are also devices available with an external feedback path for more precise control.

Key Considerations for Choosing a Clock Generator
There can be several considerations in selecting the correct clock generator or frequency synthesizer. These high-level specifications should be taken into consideration:

  • Clock jitter: This is a measure of the amount of error a clock signal has with respect to the ideal signal, in either the time or frequency domains. In most applications, clock jitter is one of the main criterion, typically defined by the needs of the processor, FPGA or ASIC. In addition, clock signal quality may also be driven by the application itself. For example, to meet 10 Gigabit Ethernet requirements, a supplier may come up with its own jitter budget for either the transmit or receive path; or to be compliant to the PCIe Gen 1,2 or 3 standard, there may be another set of requirements. IDT meets the jitter requirements of virtually any application.
     
  • Frequency range: Different clock synthesizers are optimized for different frequencies. Some devices offer very good performance over a wide range of frequencies, while others offer unparalleled performance designed for a narrow frequency band specific to a particular application. When exact frequency requirements are unknown, customers can benefit from IDT’s wide selection.
     
  • Input and output signaling type: Every clock signal needs a defined high / low voltage, and rise / fall time. These are classified as “signaling types” that conform to industry standards, such as LVCMOS, LVDS, LVPECL, HCSL, to name a few. Some clock generators offer support for fixed signaling types, while others are more flexible and support multiple types. Some types are single-ended while others are differential clocks; IDT has them all.
     
  • Supply voltage: This is the voltage required to operate the device. Generally, the clock signal generator’s supply voltage is determined by the power rails that are available in the system. Lower supply voltages will generally offer lower power dissipation. IDT is continually offering innovative low voltage options to save power without sacrificing performance.
     
  • Level of integration: It’s generally a good idea to choose a clock generation device that can meet the system requirements with the fewest number of components and circuit complexity. Fewer components simplifies the design and procurement process for faster time to market, and can even improve reliability for better production yields. IDT offers some of the industry’s most integrated solutions for highly-complex systems, along with right-sized solutions for those that fall in between.

About Clock Generators and Frequency Synthesizers (Clock Synthesizers)
A clock signal generator is a circuit that produces a timing signal for use in synchronizing a system’s operation. At its most basic level, a clock generator consists of a resonant circuit and an amplifier. The resulting timing signal (or clock signal) can range from a simple 50 percent duty cycle square wave to more sophisticated arrangements. The resonant circuit is usually a quartz piezo-electric oscillator, although simpler tank circuits and even RC circuits may be used in some cases. As clock generation timing outputs become more complex, we typically refer to these devices as frequency synthesizers or clock synthesizers. A frequency synthesizer may combine a frequency multiplier, frequency divider, and frequency mixer operations to produce the desired output signal. Frequency multipliers generate an output signal whose output frequency is a harmonic (multiple) of its input frequency, while the mixer generates sum and difference frequencies. Many clock synthesizers or frequency synthesizers are known as phase-locked loop clocks (PLL clock), which contain PLLs used to compare the phase of the input and, and adjust the frequency of its oscillator to keep the phases matched. Programmable clock generators allow the number used in the multiplier or divider to be changed, allowing a wide variety of output frequencies to be selected without modifying the hardware.

IDT’s clock generators or clock synthesizer products support several different type of differential clock output levels such as LVPECL, LVDS, HCSL etc.