存储多路复用器

memory-multiplexers-banner.jpg

IDT 的多路复用器专门针对存储器密集型应用而优化。在断电备份情形中,NVDIMM 模块使用 IDT 多路复用器将来自 DRAM 的数据引导至闪存。SSD 模块使用 IDT 多路复用器来提高闪存密度。这些产品还可适用于要求在小占用空间中实现高性能、低功耗以及高易用性的双向信号功能的其他应用。

关于 NVDIMM 存储器的多路复用器应用

在企业级服务器市场上,基于 DDR4 的高速 RDIMM 和 LRDIMM 存储器模块扮演着不可或缺的角色;但是,在意外停电期间,在这些 DRAM 中当前存储的信息可能会丢失。对于某些服务器应用,NVDIMM 通过在断电前电源可用的最后数毫秒秒内将信息从 DRAM 备份到闪存,增加了额外的安全层。在正常的高速运转期间,IDT 的 1:2 多路复用器将 DRAM 地址和数据引导至 DIMM 的边缘连接器,以供服务器的主机控制器访问。在备份和还原操作中,相同的多路复用器引导 DRAM 地址与数据到本地闪存子系统,从而在断电期间,可将易失性 DRAM 数据保存在闪存中。

关于 SSD 存储器的多路复用器应用

迄今为止,SSD 的容量很大程度上受到 SSD 控制器 ASIC 的引脚数限制。在不影响速度的前提下添加更多闪存将需要从控制器额外引进更多的地址和数据线路,以控制额外的闪存组。有时,添加额外的 ASIC 引脚数会变得不可行或太昂贵。IDT 的 1:4 多路复用器使 ASIC 引脚数量能够按大约一比四的比率增长。即,对于每四组额外的闪存设备,只需向控制器额外添加一个寻址/数据端口。这使得在相同 ASIC 引脚数量下的闪存容量能够提高 4 倍。如果 SSD 的外形尺寸提供额外空间来容纳额外的闪存容量,IDT 建议在您的解决方案中采用多个 1:4 多路复用器。

Memory Multiplexers

memory-multiplexers-banner.jpg

IDT's memory multiplexers are optimized for memory-intensive applications. NVDIMM modules use IDT multiplexers to steer data from DRAM to flash during a power outage backup scenario. SSD modules use IDT multiplexers to increase flash densities. These products can also be used for other applications requiring high performance, low power, and easy to use bidirectional signaling capabilities in a small footprint.

About NVDIMM Memory Multiplexer Applications

DDR4-based high-speed RDIMM and LRDIMM memory modules play an integral role in the enterprise server market; however, during an unexpected power outage, the information currently stored in these DRAMs can be lost. For some server applications, NVDIMMs add an extra layer of safety by backing up the information from the DRAMs to flash during the last few milliseconds of available power, just before the power outage. During normal high-speed operation, IDT 1:2 multiplexers steer DRAM address and data to the DIMM’s edge connector to make it accessible by the server’s host controller. During the backup and restore operation, the same multiplexers steer DRAM address and data to a local flash subsystem so that the volatile DRAM data can be preserved in flash during the power outage.

About SSD Memory Multiplexer Applications

Until now, SSD capacity has been limited, to a large extent, by the pin count of the SSD controller ASIC. Adding more flash memory without compromising speed requires additional address and data lines coming out of the controller to control the additional flash banks. At some point, the additional ASIC pin count becomes impractical or too expensive. IDT’s 1:4 multiplexers allow the ASIC pin count to grow at about one-fourth the rate. That is, for every four banks of additional flash devices, only one additional address/data port has to be added to the controller. This allows a 4X increase in flash capacity for the same ASIC pin count. If the SSD form factor has room for additional flash capacity, IDT recommends using multiple 1:4 multiplexers as part of the solution.